Testimonials

Our clients say far more about East Coast Soul than we ever could about ourselves. Please take a moment to browse our ever-growing collections of testimonials, or visit us around the web.

"Absolutely unbelievable! I first saw ECS in 2011 when they were performing in Boston. I knew then that I wanted them for my wedding someday! Over the next few years I actually used them for a couple of corporate events as I am an event planner by trade. Finally when I got engaged in 2015, they were literally my 3rd call after my family to say "It's time to finally perform for me!". I worked with Sean & Art leading up to the wedding on exactly what I wanted and they did more than deliver. They got every detail exactly as I wanted-include a music mix for my Father/Daugther dance. As a former wedding coordinator, I was very particular that I wanted our music to be the "key feature" of the event- after all, that's what people remember the most! Wedding day came and ECS killed it- they performed our first dance which was a country song- a bit out of their element but you'd never know it! (Dan & Shay, From the Ground Up). The kept the crowd on the floor the ENTIRE night- including my 85 year old aunt!! At the end of the night, my guests were literally yelling "encore, encore". When else do you see that at a WEDDING?! I honestly can't say enough good things about ECS. I can't think of anyone else that even compares to the level of entertainment they provide. I can 200% guarantee that if you book them you will love them just as much as I did- well a close second anyways ;) Thank you Sean, Art & Crew for making our night SO special! We love you guys! "

Jackie (Bride)

Mashpee, MA
September 17, 2017
"I booked East Coast Soul for my wedding without ever seeing them live. My sister was at a wedding and she Facetimed me from it while screaming "THIS WILL BE YOUR WEDDING BAND." I wasn't even engaged at the time, but she was adamant about it. Once I did get engaged, I decided on a short 9 month engagement. I knew bands would book up fast, so I booked them on a whim. There were other people looking at my date so I had to act fast, but I experienced slight fear afterwards that maybe I should have looked around. My wedding was this past weekend and I can be rest assured that there is NO better band than East Coast Soul. I am the first to admit when I am flawed, and I will say I was a pretty annoying bride when it came to the music. I was very nit picky and gave them a ridiculous amount of requests. They treated me like a Queen. Throughout the wedding planning process they were awesome to work with. Sean and Art responded to every e-mail and call extremely promptly and listened to everything I had to say. When it was time for the main event, the band absolutely CRUSHED it. They were so fun, energetic, kind, and insanely talented. I literally had to drag people off of the dance floor. My guests will not stop talking about how awesome the band was. They played all the right songs and really took my requests into consideration to create the perfect setlist for the type of wedding I wanted. The MC was so organized and kept everything flowing smoothly. Timing is huge at a wedding and it was an absolute flawless execution. I could go on for hours. Moral of the story is, East Coast Soul rocks. If you haven't booked them already, what are you waiting for??"

Alexa (Bride)

Farmington, CT
September 2, 2018
"We hired East Coast Soul for our wedding. Fabulous music, great energy. The band obviously just loves to play and it comes through in their performance. They also handled the recorded music for our ceremony and played the piano and saxophone during cocktail hour. They had a flat rate for the whole night and were totally flexible with us when we had last minute changes, which we really appreciated! Art and Sean are so easy to work with and respond very quickly and provide a detailed questionnaire and rundown ahead of time. The saxophonist also did some amazing improv that had everyone clapping during the reception. It’s like getting a show! We highly recommend them!"

Alison (Bride)

Lincoln, MA
August 25, 2018
"We had East Coast Soul (specifically the Soulsville Ensemble) at our wedding last week at the Trailside Inn in Killington, Vermont. I cannot express how absolutely AMAZING they were!! I had watched several of their YouTube videos prior to booking them, but their videos did not do justice to how incredible they are as musicians and how engaging they are with the guests. We had a wedding of 75 people and had almost everyone dancing the whole time. We had SO many compliments on how amazing the band was, and multiple guests said that it was the best reception music and most people dancing at a wedding they had ever seen. This band made our reception what it was, and was one of the best choices we made when it came to planning our event. In terms of administration, Art (our communication go-to person for planning purposes) was very responsive, flexible and accommodating. We had a keyboardist during the ceremony who was willing to play music for a song that my husbands sister sang during the ceremony, and had a sax/keyboard duo during our cocktail hour. They worked with us during the planning to get a sense of what type of music we wanted, and ended up playing a jazz set during dinner and more funk/soul/pop during the receptions. It wasn't even about the specific songs they played, it was more about how they played them and their renditions that got everyone so fired up. Overall we are beyond thrilled with everything East Coast Soul contributed to our wedding experience and would strongly urge anyone considering them for their event to just go ahead and book! "

Emma (Bride)

July 29, 2017
"In planning our daughter's wedding we really wanted the music to stand out, and with East Coast Soul we got exactly what we wanted. I'm not exaggerating when I say that the dance floor was full the entire night, and those not dancing were standing to watch the band because they were such amazing entertainers! Our guests could not stop talking about this band! And band managers get bonus points for being so delightful to work with right from our first contact months before the wedding. ECS was one of the best decisions we made when planning the wedding. Highest possible recommendations""

Franca (Mother of the Bride)

Boston, MA
December 16, 2017
"We just wanted to thank you for making our wedding day such a special occasion! East Coast Soul is fantastic, and you were a pleasure to work with from start to finish. You brought great energy to our wedding day, and we heard nothing but rave reviews throughout the day from our family and friends. It’s clear that you are passionate about what you do, and it showed in your performances throughout the day—from providing music for our ceremony to the performance you gave during the reception. You truly helped set the tone and mood for our memorable day and were a huge part of making the night a hassle- and stress-free success. The setlist was well thought out and kept everyone on the dance floor for the entire night; we also appreciate that you were mindful of our personal preferences, as well as those of guests of several generations. We can’t thank you enough for making our wedding day so much fun!"
"We hired EAST COAST SOUL for our daughter, Kelley's wedding (9-18-2010-Grafton, VT). Living in California I left the decision to hire a band up to my soon to be son-in-law, Jeff. Jeff is a Musician himself and knows good music when he hears it. I was skeptical having only pursed the website prior to the Wedding. I was blown away, this is the best group of talented musicians and vocalists I have heard in a long time. WOW, I cannot say enough about this Band - from the musicians to the vocalists - it was truly a SPECTACULAR evening. The band is an intricate part of the reception - the band can make or ruin a reception - EAST COAST SOUL made our reception. We did not want the MUSIC to end, thus enjoying two encores! We received many comments on how great the band was! I cannot believe there were 11-members in a tiny space - EAST COAST SOUL pulled off a GREAT evening! If anyone wants to hire a talented and highly entertaining musical group for any occasion - I HIGHLY recommend EAST COAST SOUL!!! THANK-YOU EAST COAST SOUL for making Jeff & Kelley's wedding reception truly unforgettable."
"Based on recommendations from others, we went into our wedding with very high expectations for ECS, and somehow they managed to surpass them. The band set exactly the right mood for our wedding with a perfect selection of songs that got everyone on the dance floor. We received countless comments from family and friends regarding ECS, all with lofty praise for their performance and ability to get the wedding guests involved. In addition to their already great selection of music, the band learned several songs for us, including an Irish folk song, that made the music all the more meaningful. Additionally, the band handled the more formal aspects, like the first dance and introduction of the wedding party, with the perfect mix of class and style. Hiring ECS for the reception was one of the best decision we made and I would wholeheartedly recommend them for any wedding or event."
"ECS is AMAZING! Hands down one of the highlights of our wedding. We first saw ECS at an event for work a few weeks after our engagement and we were thoroughly impressed. We thought there was no chance we could have them at our wedding, but fortunately they were available on our date and the price was reasonable. Sean and Art were a pleasure to work with and helped to understand our vision for the day. They learned a couple of songs that weren’t on their normal song list and sounded just like the recording with their own unique flair. At one point in the night, they even let me get on stage and sing with them. As most reviews say, our guests could not stop talking about the band a month later are still talking about them today. If you are looking for a professional, extremely talented, flexible, and energetic band, ECS is the band for you."

Winston (Groom)

Plymouth, MA
October 21, 2017
"When you are a destination bride, choosing vendors is stressful and nerve wracking! In selecting East Coast Soul, I basically went off of online reviews, YouTube videos and conversations with the band director (?). I am so glad we chose them and COULD NOT have been happier! Not only was the band director incredibly easy to communicate with, flexible and reliable, the band was outstanding! Everything went according to the questionnaire we filled out a few weeks before and they were lively and high energy. We had a small wedding (75 guests) and I was worried about the dance floor being "dead" the whole time. This was not the case. East Coast Soul did an incredible job keeping everyone dancing!"
"East Coast Soul's Atlantic Ensemble was absolutely INCREDIBLE! They were really responsive and easy to plan with, and their performance was top notch. Everyone who attended our wedding raved about how incredible the band was and that they'd never seen so many guests out on the dance floor at a wedding before. They played an epic hora which got every single guest out on the floor. They also did a wonderful job with music for our ceremony (solo guitarist) and cocktail hour (jazz duo). We can't say enough amazing things about East Coast Soul! Hire them now."

Sarah (Bride)

Becket, MA
September 1, 2018
"East Coast Soul was amazing! It's all anyone wants to talk about when the subject of my wedding comes up--and we had a lot of other awesome things happen. They were so upbeat, easy to work with, and most importantly, entertaining! Not to mention they were the most affordable band I looked at (you work directly with them so no management company premium). HIGHLY recommend!"

Carly (Bride)

Lincoln, MA
September 3, 2017
"These musicians crushed it at our wedding! So many of our guests came up to us throughout the night to tell us how fabulous the band was. They were so easy to work with leading up to the wedding day, and they were happy to tailor the event to exactly how we wanted it. They were so energetic, talented, and passionate about their music, and they had everyone on the dance floor all night. We couldn't recommend them enough! We are so appreciative that they made the trip from Boston to NY to help make our wedding day so special!"

Lily (Bride)

Cortlandt, NY
May 20, 2017
"Working with this band was incredible. From our initial engagement all the way to the event itself, the band and it's members were extremely accommodating. Our wedding was fairly unconventional, and the band rolled right along with all of our odd requests. Not only did they learn a Vulfpeck tune for us, but the rest of their set was incredible and much of it was not the standard wedding band tunes you'd expect. They had us dancing all night, and their sound was full and fun!"

Jon (Groom)

Jackson, NH
October 6, 2016
"Hands down-the BEST decision I made for my outdoor Vermont wedding. I planned my wedding on my own and knew that music was just as important to me as tasty food, but was not sure if a band would understand how to work with my unique and unconventional requests. I started to work with Art and immediately felt comfortable and knew I was dealing with professionals. We went with The Soulsville ensemble and they absolutely blew everyone away. We had an older crowd for guests and we were worried no one would dance, but the dance floor was packed the entire evening. More importantly to me was that I gave them a few songs I needed them to play (which they did, on time and exactly as I had envisioned) but they understood how to navigate the evening and did not need their hands to be held. When planning a wedding on your own, there are a ton of things to think about and plan but ECS was not a bother. They knew what to do and did it better than I ever could have imagined. I want to get married again just to listen to them! ECS will be your smartest and easiest decision for your wedding!"
"It would be hard to overstate and/or encapsulate in 3500 characters how good East Coast Soul is. Next to deciding to marry my spouse, this was the best decision I made in regards our wedding day. As you might expect, the whole process was easy, from the band initially getting in touch with us, to getting a sense of what we wanted/didn't want, to helping us with ceremony sound. They have a very easy-to-complete google survey for your preferences, timing, etc. Showed up to the venue well ahead of time, ready to go. All thumbs up on the organizational front. But let me talk about the band. Oh my god, the band. At some point during my mother/son dance, when I let my attention widen in scope, I thought to myself in the back of my mind, "Damn, these guys are GOOD." And then it just got better. And better. And better. The entire main set, I don't think there was one butt in a chair. Our family friends' younger daughter, who I've been told is shy and introverted, was dancing the entire night. An older relative who I didn't even think could safely walk up three flights of stairs danced the entire night. I think the guy dishing out Ben and Jerry's in the back corner was dancing the entire night. I have several friends that range from very-good-amateur to professional-level musicians who were standing transfixed in front of the stage like they were at a concert. During the final song I crowd surfed (!). My spouse crowd surfed (!!!!). The lead singer crowd surfed (!!!!!!!!!!). After the whole thing was over people were left looking at each other in that manner that people do when they need to confirm that what just happened, happened, and that they weren't having a hallucination. It was that good. It goes without saying that everyone was asking me for the band's name, telling me this was the best band they have ever seen at a wedding, etc. etc. etc., all the accolades you normally hear about in wedding reviews. But it was better than that. It was a religious experience. I find myself waking abruptly in the middle of the night because I was shouting The Isley Brothers in my sleep. I'm worried the dry cleaner won't be able to clean my suit because it got so sweaty. I'm still not sure if my uncle has gotten his voice back yet. Please, let me help you save some of your wedding planning time for flowers or photographers or linens or whatever else you need. Book this band. Right. Now."

Kurt (Groom)

Chittenden, VT
July 28, 2018
"East Coast Soul is hands down the best wedding band out there. Their vibe, energy, professionalism and most of all, performance were outstanding! From the moment we chose to work with them, everything ran smoothly. It was a very straightforward process and they worked with us on everything from the ceremony through the reception. We had a string quartet at our ceremony and it really made all the difference. It was beautiful. We had a few of the band members play at the cocktail hour and the vibe was perfect. I can't say enough about the Stax Ensemble at the reception. From the moment they started playing through the end of the night, the dance floor was packed. Their song choices and performance were absolutely amazing and the night was everything we could have imagined and more. Months after the wedding we are still getting compliments on the band and have people telling us they were the best wedding band ever. Highly recommend this fabulous group. Thank you so much, ECS!!!"

Shelby (Bride)

Kennebunk, ME
August 17, 2019
"They ARE the Wedding !!! We saw them at a friends wedding and immediately knew we had to have them at ours . Especially the Stax Ensemble staring Giang Luc. He is electrifying !!! People were literally blown away by this band and we have already booked them for an office Xmas party . The team was organized in booking and capturing our style of music and very helpful with playlist for background music when the live band wasn’t playing . Literally the best wedding band ever."
"Are you looking for a wedding band that will blow your guest away? Are you looking to have a huge non-stop dance party at your wedding with your friends and family running up to you and saying , "Can I be a groupie for this band?!?!". Then look no further, stop thinking about anything else and book East Coast Soul! We were originally introduced to ECS at a friends wedding, and to put it lightly, they were so amazing that I lost my voice the next morning from all the fun the crowd was having. When my fiance popped the question and we were planning the logistics of our wedding, we both knew that we wanted ECS at our wedding. We are so thankful they had an opening, and quickly booked them to be our band. Working with the managers of ESC, specifically Sean and Art, was wonderful, stress-free, and effortless. They are prompt, professional, kind, and down to earth. They are willing to work with you for anything in order to make your day shine. And then comes the wedding night--and oh goodness did the band deliver! I've never seen a band play with as much heart, soul, and gusto as ESC. They were able to play a diverse array of music to cater to all our guests, young or old(er). Everyone was dancing the night away, and the lead singers truly put on a performance show. They know how to gauge the crowd, which songs to play, and when to bust out the insane dance moves. Yes, this band comes equipped with dance moves too! We are so thankful to have had the opportunity of ESC performing at our wedding. They are truly electrifying and provided us with such fun memories that we will cherish for a lifetime. Book them TODAY!"

Anne (Bride)

New Haven, CT
November 2, 2019
"East Coast Soul was, without a doubt, the most incredible wedding band we ever could have asked for. We booked them sight unseen after seeing a different ensemble from the band play at another wedding several years ago, and never thought twice about booking a new ensemble without seeing them prior. We had 7 pieces and it was absolutely perfect. They have a very involved form that clients fill out to create the best night possible with the clients' visions prioritized from the beginning. This form and the details are not set in stone, though, so you are free to edit and amend throughout the planning process as your vision changes: this is ideal because not all major music decisions are easy to make from the beginning. The details are not so much that they are overwhelming, though. It is just enough to feel like you as the client have control over the event and the flow, while also giving ECS the freedom to do what they do best. We chose to have the band run the show - we did not have many stipulations or requests, and we are so happy that we had ECS use their best judgment of the night and the crowd to optimize the performance. They handled absolutely everything A/V from the beginning: from a gorgeous guitar playing for the ceremony, to the wedding party introductions, through the first dances (they even changed a lyric in a song for us as well as learned a new song), toasts, and the dance floor. They had suggestions for all of the processionals/entrance songs and we were so happy to have gone with their selections that made more sense than what we had initially requested. Their set list is long, diverse, and fantastic. Everyone was out on the dance floor all night. Their breaks were appropriately timed, they maintained high energy all night, and they got the party going again after people took breaks from the dance floor. They were excited, engaged, and seemed truly happy to be there with us on our special night. Their vocalists even got out on the dance floor with us to engage with the crowd. They did not have any special requests or needs, and were so easy to accommodate and work with from the beginning. ECS was the first thing we booked for our wedding after the venue, and we're so glad we did. This band is well worth it: you'll be happy you booked them and you'll never look back."

Elizabeth (Bride)

Middletown, RI
September 28, 2019
"We had East Coast Soul-Atlantic play at our wedding in September. They were so easy to work with and made planning the musical portion of the evening super easy. We loved that they also played for the ceremony and during the cocktail hour! The reception was so much fun because the band picked amazing songs to play and kept everyone out on the dance floor!! Plus, they were the most reasonably priced band we looked at! Thanks for helping make our wedding so memorable!"

Beth (Bride)

Newport, RI
September 28, 2019
"You do not need to search any further - you should hire East Coast Soul for your wedding! They are INCREDIBLE. We used the Stax ensemble and so many guests made a point of letting us know after the wedding how impressed they were by the sound and physical energy the band brought to the stage. The band played for several hours straight without breaks and kept the dance floor energy up - and we had a blast the entire time. Everyone from our little cousins to our grandparents were on the dance floor absolutely loving the music. And Sean was an excellent emcee the whole night which made the intros, cocktail music, and speeches run perfectly. Not to mention the band was very easy to work with and accommodated all of our requests - including having family members play with them and asking them to learn new songs for our dances. Guests haven't stopped asking for more information on this band for family / friends weddings because they are truly the best band you can hire for your wedding. Don't wait to reach out or they'll be booked for your big day!"
"I can't express my love for East Coast Soul more. They made our wedding exactly what we wanted it to be, which was an EPIC party. Not only are they incredible musicians, but outrageously impressive performers as well. We're still getting comments from guests about how incredible they were. Between the song selections, their ability to go with the flow and to fire up the crowd, they are a 12/10 and easily the best band I've ever had the pleasure of experiencing. I'm totally smitten by them and recommend them whole heartedly for your wedding."

Ciara (Bride)

Stowe, VT
September 7, 2019
"I literally cannot stop talking about how amazing this band was at our wedding. I have never danced so much at a wedding and I've never seen so many people both on the dance floor and moving tables to dance on the grass around it! I truly am not just saying that because it was my own wedding - this band was the talk of the entire next morning's brunch. We had the Stax ensemble with Dan and Astha singing and they are some of the most engaging performers I've ever seen. The whole band is so immensely talented and they did an excellent job with learning our first dance song, playing really appropriate (but good!) dinner music, and then turning it UP for the dance party. They also were so awesomely accommodating about traveling and making sure all details were accounted for. Thank you ECS!!!"
"East Coast Soul is awesome! I have been to many weddings with great bands, an East Coast Soul is unequivocally the best I have ever seen. I lost count of the number of people that came up to me during our wedding and in the days that followed to say: "they were the best wedding band I have ever heard." Our friends and family love to dance and have a good time, and East Coast Soul provided four hours of non-stop entertainment. Working with the band was quite easy: they are exceptionally well organized and make sure they are on the same page as you weeks before the big day. After filling out their survey, the band clearly totally understood the vibe we are looking for at the wedding, and even made suggestions of additional songs/artists to include that fit exactly with the kind of music we wanted. I cannot describe how comforting it was to be sure the band understood what we were shooting for. By the time the wedding rolled around, we had very high expectations given how great the band had been to work with, and then they blew our expectations out of the water! The dance floor was absolutely full from the opening song (Hold On, I'm Comin' by Sam and Dave) until the last song (Shout) four hours later. Amazing band, extremely versatile. Would recommend to anyone."
"The BEST wedding band! Not only was the performance truly incredible - they were also super professional and easy to work with. WORTH EVERY PENNY! We had seen a different East Coast Soul ensemble the year prior and made it a priority for our wedding plans. We booked a different ensemble with East Coast Soul than what we had seen before but it didn't matter - they both were OUTSTANDING. The song list to the skill of the performers really exceeded all expectations. People are still talking about how incredible this band was."

Canice (Bride)

New Gloucester, ME
July 6, 2019
"I cannot possibly recommend East Coast Soul highly enough. From the moment we booked them, everything was completely seamless. They were patient and thorough in answering all of our questions and made the planning process absolutely painless. Then came our wedding day. To say they blew us away would be a complete understatement. The energy and talent of this group is absolutely unreal. The way they can read the room to put together a set that keeps the dance floor on fire is incredible. I couldn't even keep count of how many guests told us they were the best band they'd ever seen. Some of our older relatives also let us know they thoroughly enjoyed just sitting and watching them perform - they felt like they were attending a concert. East Coast Soul was a huge part of what made our wedding so incredible - if you have the chance to work with them, do not hesitate. They are simply the best. "

Kellie (Bride)

Boston, MA
October 5, 2019
"If you’re debating DJ or Band and you came across East Coast Soul….100% hands down please consider working with ECS. You won’t regret it, and neither will your guests. Our guests still talk about the music at our wedding. I had attended 3 friends’ weddings where ECS performed over the course of a few years, so that’s how I became acquainted with them - when we began planning our wedding we knew for a fact we’d hire ECS, even though they were in Boston and we were in NYC. We did check out a few other bands and listen to them just to see what else was out there and that ended up being an inefficient use of our time… as ECS was that much better. Their musicians and vocalists are so incredibly talented – sometimes we’d stop dancing just to watch the performance. Their musicality is amazing and they know how to read a crowd – which is exactly what you want at your party. No need to give them a playlist. Strongly suggest you shift some of your floral budget over to band/music and hire ECS – it will be so worth it."

Annelise (Bride)

New York City, NY
May 4, 2019
"My (now) husband and I knew we wanted to make sure the music at our wedding blew people away. Being musicians ourselves, having an outstanding band was probably our top priority in planning our wedding. East Coast Soul did not disappoint, to say the least. I can't begin to name all the people who have expressed how impressed they were with the music during our reception. People who weren't even at the wedding commented on how awesome they heard it was! It's been over a month since we got married and my husband and I are still receiving compliments on the band. Each musician made the whole performance feel very personalized and special - something we will never forget. If music is important to you, East Coast Soul will deliver THE best experience!"

Kate (Bride)

Gloucester, MA
October 3, 2019
"ECS was the best wedding planning decision I made. They put on a show my friends and family will never forget. They hit different genres, across generations, and catered to my very specific requests! Could not be happier!"

Meghan (Bride)

Wellesley, MA
October 7, 2018
"Everything about this band is top-notch. From our initial interactions with Sean who walked us through a rundown of ECS' vibe and approach and answered all our questions, to the handoff to Art, who was present, prompt, and enthusiastic through all the details, to the actual day-of execution with Torrence, Traci, and the entire Soulsville ensemble...it was ALL flawless and magical. All of our guests RAVED (and the raving has continued!) with a special shoutout to Torrence. The energy was so high that the floor was literally shaking. We've never experienced a hora so lively (and so long!), and the surprise Don't Stop Believing (everyone thought we planned that) was the perfect way to end this magical night. Our videographer told my husband that he's going to be hard-pressed to find a background song to capture all the energy...and that was just after hour 1 of dancing."
"Best Possible Wedding Band. East Coast Soul had our guests dancing from the minute they started playing through the end of the wedding. Highly recommend."

Beth (Groom)

Jersey City, NJ
September 22, 2018
"We had the most perfect night on Saturday night with East Coast Soul at our wedding!! We loved every minute of the music! The band had the most amazing energy the whole night and no one left the dance floor!! We were thrilled with everything they played and it truly made the night one that our guests and we will never forget! We had so many wonderful compliments and raving reviews from all of our guests! Our wedding night wouldn’t have been the same without east coast soul there!"

Kelly (Bride)

Fairlee, VT
September 8, 2018
"ECS is unreal. They are SO MUCH MORE than a band. Not only are they all incredibly talented, they are genuinely kind happy people. Our dance floor was lit because of ECS. Torrence has the voice of an angel and Yuki got in the crowd- people went wild. Do not choose anyone else!! "

Caroline (Bride)

Kennebunkport, ME
October 5, 2019
"My husband and I saw East Coast Soul at a wedding one week after we got engaged. We did not have a venue or date yet, but we knew we HAD to have East Coast Soul at our wedding. We immediately reached out to them and they worked with us each step of the way. They were not only helpful and responsive, but they took each of our crazy requests and made our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception music absolutely perfect. I cannot say enough good things about this group. We had every single person up out of their seats on the dance floor the entire night. They aren't just there to provide music, they are there to perform and get the party going. You will not be disappointed at all if you choose this group!! "

Mary (Bride)

Buffalo, NY
October 4, 2019
"We are so pleased with the impact that East Coast Soul made on our wedding day! We booked ECS 3 months before our date; the booking and planning process were so smooth, and they kept us calm throughout. We didn't get a chance to meet the band beforehand, so we went off of online reviews, and a previous client's reference which was helpful and reassuring. They are so talented, were great entertainment at our wedding and played beautifully during our ceremony. We were most impressed with their willingness and ability to include our culture's traditional music, and played an incredible Hora! We are hopeful we will be able to see ECS at a wedding in the future! "

Miriam (Bride)

Walpole, MA
August 25, 2019
"So good!!! These guys are so f*king good. Honestly, they absolutely killed it - our guests are still talking about how great the band was. They are responsible and responsive in the planning phase, they are very talented musicians, and they know how to party."

Andrea (Bride)

Center Lovell, ME
August 25, 2019
"East Coast Soul (the Stax ensemble) was the LIFE OF THE PARTY for our wedding!!! Their enthusiasm and talent were bar none. They made the entire process seamless and easy for booking and leading up to the wedding. I cannot thank them enough for making our wedding so incredibly fun and memorable. Truly one of the best investments for our wedding. Our family and friends had such an incredible time dancing and it was a night none of us will ever forget. Thank you so much for being part of our big day. "

Mariah (Bride)

Rye, NH
July 13, 2019
"ECS MADE our wedding—all the guests had an absolute blast, and we were blown away by both the energy put forth by all the musicians as well as the musical quality. We got more compliments on the band than we could ever have imagined. Guests were even telling us that they "felt like the went to a concert" that night. I couldn't be happier with our decision to work with ECS. They were professional and communicative leading up to the wedding, and shined brilliantly during the day-of performance. We can't thank the band enough."

Jeff (Groom)

Groton, MA
August 18, 2018
"ECS played our wedding in July, and they were unbelievable. Sean and Art were great in the months leading up to the wedding, always responded promptly and professionally, and answered all of our questions. The performance itself was absolutely awesome - we and our guests were blown away at the quality of the music and the energy of all the players. I highly recommend the full 10 piece band! All in all, ECS was probably the single best decision we made in the process of planning the wedding. They knocked it out of the park! "

Nicholas (Groom)

Portsmouth, RI
July 29, 2018
"Simply put ECS are the best wedding band on the face of the Earth! Not only are their musicians incredibly talented, but they absolutely nailed the feel we we're going for the entirety of the night. Young and old alike did not stop dancing the entire evening, and the feedback we got form our guests overwhelmingly echoed the statements above. Additionally, their staff were incredibly professional, attentive and personable, and made the entire process seamless and easy. My wife and I cannot speak highly enough of ECS and would recommend them to anyone and everyone in a heartbeat! "

Russ (Groom)

Westport, MA
June 30, 2018
"The best wedding band! We were blown away by how great ECS was -- working with them to plan the music for our wedding was so easy and they were really accommodating with all of our special requests. We booked the Stax ensemble and opted for a 6-piece band, and they were fantastic. The mix of music was just what we wanted, and the performance by the vocalists really upped the energy level with our guests. We barely stopped dancing all night and our guests raved about the band. We had them help with the mic/sound for our outdoor ceremony as well, and that was also super easy and smooth. We would highly recommend booking ECS!"
"You can trust East Coast Soul Throughout the whole process, from reaching out to them to packing up on the night of the wedding these guys were professional, fun, and willing to go the extra mile. First, get a band for your wedding. These guys bring so much energy, entertainment and talent it's absolutely worth it. Now that you've made that decision, you'll be safe with East Coast Soul. When we started reaching out we told them our date, what we music we were interested in etc. However, we didn't sign a contract right away. East Coast soul and Sean were very patient. Finally, they reached out and said, "We have someone else who would like to put a deposit down but we've already been talking with you guys." It was very kind and courteous. Obviously, that little bit of pressure got us to pull the trigger. I'm glad we did. 

Their whole demeanor and style is to be upfront, kind, and honest. They want the night to be as awesome and successful as you do. The night of the wedding, they did a great job reading the crowd, MC'ing the night, and providing extra equipment. Their skill and talent rise above their truly excellent music. They also have a keen sense of rhythm for the night and an awareness of how the party should be rolling. At one point they were supposed to play a slow song to allow for cutting the cake but Sean wisely spotted the look the bride was sending him and noticed the cake wasn’t ready. He wordlessly nodded and adapted the plan. None of the guests noticed, but it’s that kind of skill you need at a wedding. 
We had a ‘backyard style’ wedding and no wedding planner so the expertise they brought was very welcome. They showed up on time, followed the limited instructions we’d given and ran with the plan without being inflexible. 

Throwing a wedding, you’ve got to hire vendors you trust to do a good job and then stand back and let them kill it. That’s just what East Coast Soul did for us. Because we’d hired the best, we didn’t need to stress over the details, they had the whole thing covered. 
Their music was amazing, people were up and dancing the whole night. They read the crowd, learned all the songs we asked for, (and they sounded great on those songs (talking heads, and rolling stones), and even played an extra hour! 

Throwing a wedding can be stressful. Hire these guys, you won’t be sorry, your guests won’t be sorry, your wallet won’t be sorry, and you won’t have to stress over any entertainment."

Whitman (Groom)

Saunderstown, RI
June 16, 2018
"The BEST. If your considering ECS for your event or wedding, this should be the easiest decision you’ll make. I’ve attended 5 weddings (including my own) with ECS, and they bring 150% every time. Even people who are rhythmically challenged will dance up a storm, trust me. Total pleasure to deal work with Sean, Art and the whole crew from start to finish. Your guests will be complimenting you on the band for months to come. "
"As we were planning our Newport wedding over the last year, we knew that the band was the priority! Every memorable wedding we had been to were always the best dance parties and we knew we had friends and family that brought the energy! Needless to say we had very high expectations for our band. After hearing ECS at a Newport wedding two winters ago, we knew they were for us. Not only are they professional, responsive, and diligent in the planning process, but they are so much FUN night of. They are performers in every way and brought the exact energy that we had been after. Our guests and us loved loved loved every song and frankly did not want them to stop. We cannot thank them/you enough for the best party of our lives. We will certainly be reliving their songs and music for quite some time! "

Dana (Bride)

Newport, RI
May 27, 2018
"ECS played at our wedding over Memorial Day and they truly made the entire event. We had the 'Stax Ensemble' and not only are they all exceptional musicians, but their energy and stage presence is extraordinary. They are so good at reading the crowd and basing their set list on how everyone is feeling. They were also so easy to work with including songs to play at the reception, ceremony and cocktail hour. This is the first and only band I've seen that had all of our guests, ranging all age groups, out on the floor dancing - including my 92 year old great aunt! We had so many of our guests tell us that ECS was the best wedding band they've ever seen, and we feel so fortunate to have used them!! Highly HIGHLY recommend!! "

Laura (Bride)

Arlington, VT
May 26, 2018
"Stop looking for any other wedding band and hire East Coast Soul! They are truly an amazing band. I had read all the awesome reviews prior to booking them but nothing could have prepared me for the level of energy they brought to the dance floor. At least 20 of my guests told me that this was the best wedding band that they had ever seen and multiple people asked me their name for future bookings. They had all my guests dancing the night away and their dance skills and vocals make you feel like you are at a concert. People were going nuts for them! In addition, they are consummate professionals and always readily available via email to answer questions quickly. They are so talented and provided AV services and music for our ceremony, cocktail hour, and wedding reception seamlessly transitioning from classical to jazz to Motown to top 40 hits. They are the best! "

Kinza (Bride)

Bretton Woods, NH
October 14, 2017
"We hired ECS after seeing them at my cousin's wedding in 2015, so we knew they were great. East Coast Soul was absolutely unbelievable at our wedding. Their energy is AWESOME and their dance moves make the performance. The entire night our dance floor was packed thanks to them! Our wedding coordinator said he's never seen that many people on the dance floor for that long! My husband (who has a good voice) sang Shout with the band and it was so nice that they made it happen. My mom requested a special song at the ceremony and the band learned all of the words and sang it beautiful. We had one singer and a pianist at the ceremony. "
"You can't really get much better than Stax/East Coast Soul. My wife and I had high expectations when we booked them, but were completely blown away after they performed our wedding. We had the 10 piece group and their keyboardist played the ceremony, in addition to a jazz trio for the cocktail hour. The sound they provided was top notch (no feedback shrills at any point, which I have experienced a lot in the past) and the energy was incredibly high. Sean and Art were both super professional and I was able to put a lot of trust in them to deliver a premium performance. I used to play music professionally and speaking from experience, you can't really get much better than this group. They were super fun and the singers had choreographed dancing throughout the nonstop reception. Thanks again for the awesome performance and the great memories ECS! "

Mark (Groom)

Philadelphia, PA
September 24, 2017
"There are no words to describe the “awesomeness” that is East Coast Soul! They are a hurricane of energy, talent and great music. They are more than a band, they are vibrant performers that are able to sense the tone of the room and play exactly what’s needed every moment of your wedding. By the end of the night, the members of ECS were our friends that were seamlessly part of our wedding! They brought everyone to the dance floor…I mean EVERYONE and played songs that were loved by all generations present. Throughout the course of the night I had multiple people tell me it was the best wedding band they had ever seen and were so happy to be part of the experience. ECS were great to work with throughout the entire process and they travelled all the way to Vermont for our wedding. They were super organized and helpful and even went so far as to learn a song that my father wrote for our dance together! I have never seen my dad so touched and overjoyed. If there is any debate in your mind between getting a DJ or getting a band, do yourself a favor…stop worrying, and hire these guys! They are worth it and will not disappoint. East Coast Soul is one of the reasons our wedding was a hit! They brought the love, energy and life to our party. "

Allyson (Bride)

Waitsfield, VT
July 2, 2017
"East Coast Soul played at our wedding in Salem in July - month later, our guests are still raving about how we had the best band ever! From the very first song, the dance floor was packed and it stayed that way until the end of the night. The singers were absolutely amazing and my friends are still talking about them - they got so into the music, dancing and giving a great performance that everyone else did too. They also did a great job with the music for our ceremony and cocktail hour, with acoustic versions of songs we had selected for the ceremony and a jazz trio during the cocktail hour. They were great to work with and made the whole process go so smoothly. Hiring East Coast Soul was hands-down the best decision we made to turn our wedding into an unforgettable night for everyone! Thank you all! "

Meghan (Bride)

Salem, MA
July 14, 2017
"East Coast Soul is AMAZING!!!! They were one of the biggest parts in making our wedding day such a fun, wonderful celebration. So easy to work with throughout the whole process and communication was great. We are already brainstorming when we can host another function to be able to hire them again!! "

Lauryn (Bride)

Durham, CT
June 10, 2017
"East Coast Soul was amazing! They were so organized during the planning process and always provided thorough and helpful information. On the wedding day, they were incredible! Our guests are still talking about how much fun they had and how amazing the band was. Our dance floor was jam packed all night long! They are so talented and have so much energy! I highly recommend them to anyone for a future event! "

Megan (Bride)

Buzzard's Bay, MA
September 3, 2017
"We had East Coast Soul perform at our wedding this past week. My husband, I, and all of our guests cannot say enough great things about the band. The experience was great starting with our initial conversations with Art and Sean from the band. Planning was so easy and stress-free even when planning from across the country. They were responsive to emails and calls throughout the entire planning process. They made sure to understand exactly the type of experience we wanted for the wedding. The day of the wedding started with an acoustic duo during cocktail hour. We already started getting rave reviews from our guests about how great their performance was. We were BLOWN AWAY by the reception performance. From the very first song our dance floor was packed. I have never been to a wedding where there was no one in their seats. Every age from 10 to 90 loved the music. The band kept us having fun and dancing throughout the entire night. I am still getting contacted from guests to find out the name of the band and to share their compliments. I would not hesitate to book East Coast Soul for a wedding reception. They are truly the whole package. I only hope that I can see them again at a friend/family's wedding in the future!"

Stephanie (Bride)

Derry
December 30, 2016
"These guys are truly amazing! They kept the dance floor packed all night and several of our guests approached us to say how exceptional they were. I wanted to sing to my now wife and they helped me coordinate a surprise and backing vocals/music which was really awesome. Very organized and easy to work with! "

James (Groom)

Boston, MA
November 5, 2016
"I can't say enough about how incredible East Coast Soul was at our wedding. From the first conversation with Sean, I knew they would be awesome. Sean, Arthur and the whole band could not have been more flexible, amenable and just awesome to deal with from day one. And the music!! They were awesome! So much energy! Such an incredible set list! The dance floor was PACKED the entire night. Five stars is not enough for East Coast Soul. We really can't recommend them highly enough."
"Best wedding band ever! Our guests were simultaneously stunned and thrilled. We couldn't believe the amazing dance party they threw. They also learned two songs for us and were a huge help with logistics including sound equipment for the ceremony. Every email we sent throughout the planning process was replied to within one day. We could not have asked for a better wedding band experience. Your guests will thank you for booking ECS! "

Meg (Bride)

Wellesley, MA
October 29, 2016
"“WOW! This is the best wedding band!!!!” That’s what I heard all night from our guests! This band has soul, spirited passion, tremendous talent, professional communication, and thoughtful kindness! ECS was exceptionally amazing! My fiancé and I got engaged in late May with a wedding set in October, so we thought it might be a stretch when we found ECS online and read the marvelous reviews to actually get them as our wedding band. I emailed with our inquiry and legit 15 minutes later Sean had texted me reaching out and we were booking them 24 hours later. It felt like fate! As a part time wedding photographer and caterer, I can attest that this sort of quality and professionalism is rare in the wedding industry. The acclaim and praise you read is 100% legit. The energy and dance moves of James Brown with heart of Gladys Knight; they are full out aerobic like Tina Turner & her back-up singers! We had a list of songs we liked (some early, some later additions) and the band thoughtfully played them. They learned a song requested by my mother in law for the groom/mother of groom song. My father was over the moon to hear some of his all-time favorite hits and all of our Boston Red Sox fans belted out “Sweet Caroline” with the band. Pretty incredible when you have band members upping the energy on the dance floor too! We absolutely loved it! There wasn’t one song that we didn’t love and the band was the pulse of our wedding. Even though each member of the band makes it look easy, musical talent and range like this is no easy thing. Truly impressive talent from each musician and I would not hesitate to recommend them. On top of all that, the band found an old ring that was lost during the wedding from a groomsman’s pocket and thoughtfully made sure it got put somewhere safely and responsively communicated all of it. We appreciated all the reviews when we came across ECS and if there is one inkling of doubt on where to spend your money on the event, rest assured you will no "

Deirdre (Bride)

Sicuate, MA
October 22, 2016
"We booked East Coast Soul - Torrence and Traci (also known as the Soulsville Ensemble) and had an 8 piece band for our 8/27/2016 wedding (Venue: Old Sturbridge Village). Our package included a 2 piece jazz ensemble for our cocktail hour. We opted for recorded music during our ceremony and had ECS provide the mics/sound. Booking this band was by far a game changer for our wedding and one of the best decisions we made!!! People were on their feet from the minute our reception started until the end of the night! We received SO MANY compliments on the band. One person commented that before he rounded the corner the song playing sounded so much like the original recording that he didn't realize they were performing it. I will admit that I originally had thought we should consider a DJ for our wedding to save money, however, when we went to a friend's wedding one month after we got engaged, it was clear that their live band made the night unforgettable. The next day we scoured reviews of Boston area bands and booked this group based on reviews and sound clips from their website alone. It's a big investment, but 100% worth it!!! ECS was very organized and thorough in walking through the night with us. We worked with Art in organizing our details for the day of and Torrence did an awesome job as our emcee with the night running smoothly. My husband felt strongly that we should let them "perform what they do best" rather than be specific about songs and they nailed it! We had so much fun dancing the night away and the energy in the room was clear. We continue to receive compliments on the band to this day! Don't hesitate, book ECS!! "

Katherine (Bride)

Sturbridge, MA
August 27, 2018
"I've never heard so many guests at a wedding exclaim, "this is the best wedding band I've ever heard!" I've never seen my husband or his father - both self-proclaimed non-dancers - having so much fun. East Coast Soul did an amazing job selecting songs that kept our dance floor full right until it was time for guests to head home. They accepted song requests in real-time, nailed a really distinct cover for our first dance, did the ceremony music beautifully and brought an amazing energy to the event. They were composed and well prepared with announcements during the evening and were also incredibly organized throughout the entire planning process - the most organized of any vendor I worked with, sending automated forms to gather song preferences (in which they have a diverse offering), proactively scheduling calls with me to review the information, and being INCREDIBLY flexible with a very difficult venue (island with limited transportation and resources). Don't underestimate how valuable it is to have a vendor that's proactive about planning with you, in addition to great talent! Like my guests remarked, I felt East Coast Soul was the best wedding band I've heard. Don't hesitate to book them! "
"East Coast Soul was AMAZING! We were told that they were "the best wedding band ever" by several guests & we have to agree. Not only were they incredibly organized in the weeks leading up to the event, but they were flawless on the big day. We had acoustic guitar for our ceremony music and the guitarist not only accommodated my very specific requests, but also executed them beautifully. The sound, provided by the band, was also perfect throughout the entire ceremony. Introductions & speeches went off without a hitch & the whole event had a great flow. After dinner the band started their full set & they blew everyone away! The music selection was fantastic & they had everyone out dancing - their energy was contagious! These guys are not only seriously talented musicians, but also great performers. We had the BEST time at our wedding & a big part of that was East Coast Soul! "

Sarah (Bride)

Rye, NH
July 24, 2016
"East Coast Soul made our wedding the absolute best night of our life. The dance floor was packed the entire night. When our photographer was leaving, she said she needed to get the band's information so she could recommend them to other brides. She does weddings every weekend and said "this is the best band I have ever heard." Not only did the music sound amazing, but the band genuinely looked like they were having a great time. They were smiling and engaging with our family and friends. This set the exact tone that we were hoping to accomplish, and everyone had an amazing time. Art was incredibly helpful in planning the evening, staying in touch with us often and getting all of the information necessary to create the exact atmosphere that we desired. For my husband and I, the most special moment was when the band sang our first dance song live - a Michael Jackson song that they arranged perfectly. THANK YOU, East Coast Soul, for giving us such a special evening. We cannot wait to recommend you to everyone we know, and we hope to see you at another wedding soon because it is sure to be the best time!"

Emily (Bride)

Mashpee, MA
July 16, 2016
"East Coast Soul provided such a wonderful evening! On the evening of the wedding, we were over the moon. Sneaking a listen of the jazz before we were introduced, we were blown away by their talent. While we were so caught in the moments throughout the evening, listening to ECS serenade us was breath taking. People asked all night where we found them and during brunch were stunned by the 'concert' we treated them to the night before. We were so stunned by their flexibility and pure talent throughout the night. I so wish we could have found a way to have them play longer- it was just PERFECT. We hope to attend another wedding with ECS because I cannot wait to be a guest at one of their events and have no responsibilities, but to enjoy the concert and dance floor."

Jourdan (Bride)

Portland, ME
July 16, 2016
"So much has already been said about East Coast Soul and this review simply confirms what others have said. Torrence and Traci (as an eight-piece band) really made our reception into the all-ages dance party we had hoped for. Art and the rest of the management team were super responsive, easy to work with, and made the planning process smooth and easy. From the acoustic guitar at the ceremony to the jazz trio at our cocktail hour to our first dance to the hora to the encore, ECS delivered more than we could have hoped for. All of our guests were dancing and so many people said that ECS was the best wedding band that they had heard. The acoustic guitarist learned several songs for our ceremony and the whole band learned a song for our first dance - each of these songs was executed as perfectly as every other ECS performance. ECS made our reception great and we're so glad that they traveled to Vermont for our party. We definitely recommend ECS without any hesitation."

Jane (Bride)

Stowe, MA
July 3, 2016
"East Coast Soul was one of the BEST decisions we made for our wedding day. They had practically everyone on the dance floor including our so called “non-dancers” at the wedding. Their energy was unbelievable and we cannot recommend them highly enough. A special thank you to ECS who went out of their way to help us play a small video at our wedding as a way of remembering my husband's mom. "

Amanda (Bride)

Boston, MA
June 12, 2016
"The bottom line on these guys - they are awesome! Every guest commented on how much they loved the band we chose. My boss literally said "this has to be the top wedding band I've ever heard". They got everyone dancing, totally jammed out (dancing, having fun on stage), and played the whole night through. Honestly, if you want your guests to love the music pick these guys - they sound amazing. From a bride/groom perspective ECS is also incredibly easy to work with. They are accomodating, flexible, and responsive. My mom is a huge Van Morrison fan, and they were kind enough to learn a song for our first dance. It meant a lot to my mom and I'll be eternally grateful they did that. I am going to keep rambling about how great they are if I continue. To prove how sincere this review is let me just say this. I got married last night, and I have a bunch of stuff to do before we leave on my honeymoon. Before I did any of that I wanted to sit down and write this review, because I feel passionately that ECS is the most amazing band ever."

William (Groom)

Nahant, MA
June 4, 2016
"HIRE THIS BAND! I planned my wedding date around their availability, and boy was it worth it. From the beginning, the band's managers were very open to my thoughts and needs, and were very willing to negotiate. I got an 8-piece band featuring Giang, Dan, and Sophia, and they traveled up to Vermont for a very reasonable price. And what a show! I danced probably every single song with an enormous grin on my face. My guests were dancing right in front of the band like groupies at their favorite band's concert. I received compliments all night on how amazing they were. Not only are these top-notch musicians (we had many professional musicians at the wedding who will emphatically say the same), but they also are top-notch performers -- their enthusiasm really got the party started and the band danced and danced all night. Many of my guests (including me) were trying to think of future events they can plan where they can feature East Coast Soul. Truly -- they made my wedding amazing. My husband and I can't stop grinning when we think of great songs they played or how they introduced "This is How We Do It." So hire this band. You'll love them. In the words of Bruno Mars and Mark Ronson, "don't believe me just watch." "
"East Coast Soul was the best choice we could have made to make our wedding the success it was! The entire night was a huge dance party, everyone out of their seats just having the best time ever - all thanks to ECS! We had a couple of impromptu speeches and a few twists and turns in the structure of the night, and the band handled them seamlessly - as if it was all planned that way. We had some specific requests around not playing certain verses in select songs, changing up some words here and there and they nailed every request! Additionally, Art was incredibly responsive, which made the planning process super easy and stress-free. We'd highly, highly recommend East Coast Soul if you want an awesome wedding band to make your night amazing! "

Lauren (Bride)

Kennebunkport, ME
August 22, 2015
"Based on the great reviews for ECS, we expected an awesome wedding band, but what we got was beyond what we could imagine. We had 230 guests at our wedding and once the band started, nobody sat down again, even the grandparents! The playlist was amazing - hit after hit of timeless awesome songs. Our guests can't stop raving about ECS, a month later. Oh, and there were literally rows of people at the front of the dance floor just watching and dancing to ECS like we were at a concert for some of the songs - they were so impressive (including their dancing). ECS learned a few new songs for us too and killed it! They even led a New Orleans Style recessional for us from the ceremony to the cocktail party which was amazing. Also, communication before the wedding was exceptional - Art was incredibly responsive, flexible, and clear. ECS was the best vendor we worked with. I cannot recommend ECS enough. We booked them for five hours and just wish we had them for longer!! ECS is the first thing you should book for your wedding."

Debbi (Bride)

Chittenden, VT
August 8, 2015
"My fiance was not sure about the idea of getting a band for our wedding. She was content with a DJ and I really had to sell her on the idea that a band was the way to go. It was, her words not mine, "the best decision I have ever persuaded her to buy into". When I was trying to find the best band that fit our budget (as young, recent college graduates), East Coast Soul rose above the rest. The band was responsive to emails (typically the same-day I would send one), upfront about what they could provide, and open to negotiation once we discussed our wedding budget. The weeks leading up to the wedding, East Coast Soul worked with myself and my fiance to provide us with a customized wedding experience fit for our venue and our crowd. We filled out a survey to give the band a general idea of what we were looking for during the wedding, and the band connected with us and the venue shortly after filling out the survey to iron-out specific details on the night. East Coast Soul talked us through what the day of the wedding would look like, and were comfortable to make suggestions and recommendations (about both the day and the music selection) that would help prepare us for what was to come. By the time we arrived at Bittersweet Farm for the wedding, the band was already there setting up for the event. The music was AWESOME. I cannot tell you the number of people who came up to me during the night, and days after the event talking to me about how "this was the best wedding band they have ever heard". The crowd was ALIVE and even people who had to go home because of work the next day stayed until the very end. Everyone from younger relatives to our friends in their 20's to parents and grandparents were on the dance floor until the very end! Our wedding was truly something special, and I cannot think of any other band that would have fit our wedding better than East Coast Soul. It was truly everything that we could have asked for...and then some."

Michael (Groom)

Westport, MA
July 12, 2015
"ECS was amazing!!! They were everything we hoped for in a wedding band. Our dance floor was jam packed all night long with all generations of guests! To start with, they are great to work with. Very quick to respond, very professional, and very reasonably priced! We got married on Block Island it was their first time playing out there. We took the chance because we were really into their style. So happy we did it. They were great! They did a great job with the announcements, which is always challenging when you are announcing 26 people. They got all of the names right! The music was awesome! Additionally, we had some friends who are in a band and they wanted to play a song that night. This was a surprise and was not pre-arranged at all. The band was so accommodating and let all the guys get on stage and play their song. The horn players from ECS joined them in an LCD Soundsystem cover. Pretty awesome to have the band able to switch gears like that at the drop of a hat. It was amazing! The guys are my husband’s best friends so having them up there was so special for us. ECS could have easily said no, as this was a disruption to their show and set-up but they were AWESOME!!! I recommend ECS 100%!!!"
"The first few adjectives that come to mind... Incredible, Amazing, Superb... and the list goes on and on. Not only was East Coast Soul incredibly easy and professional to work with (easy website to navigate, open rehearsals to view their songs, customized playlists, etc), they provided over six hours of non-stop fun during our power-less wedding... yes, POWER-LESS wedding. My husband and I were married just over three weeks ago in Ipswich, MA. It happened to be the night of an epic summer thunderstorm - cue bride panic. Halfway through cocktail hour, a huge bolt of lightening struck the Estate where our reception was being held and knocked out all the power. Rather than panic, East Coast Soul assured me and my husband that they'd do everything they could to still make the evening a success - and they couldn't have pulled through any stronger! While waiting for the generator to arrive, the band quickly put band members on their horn instruments and grand piano so music could still be heard through the Estate. Although they had not planned to play these instruments during cocktail hour originally, they quickly adapted to the situation and had our guests dancing even before dinner was served. As soon as the generator arrived, they plugged right in and led our party through the most epic dance party. I've heard nothing but rave reviews from friends and family since our wedding. And I already have friends asking for their contact information for their own weddings. I couldn't be happier that my husband and I chose Sean and Aaron and the rest of the band from East Coast Soul. They provided amazing acoustics, awesome dance moves, and an all around seamless evening despite everything that was thrown at them. Not to mention, they are incredibly affordable! Thank you, East Coast Soul - you were the BEST!!"

Lauren (Bride)

Ipswich, MA
September 6, 2014
"If I could give a million stars, I would! East Coast Soul played at our wedding in summer of 2015 at OceanCliff in Newport, RI and despite the gorgeous setting, wonderful food, beautiful flowers, etc, all anyone can talk about was how great the band was. They kept everyone on the dance floor (including my 90 year old grandmother) and they didn't take a single break in our entire 4 hour reception! There was something for everyone- I don't think there was a genre or song they couldn't play and they had an expert instinct for what balance of songs would keep the party going. Typically at weddings, the younger crowd dances while everyone over 30 sits looking miserable. With ECS, almost everyone wanted to dance and those who didn't were having too much fun watching the show to be bored. They were extremely professional and made the process of selecting songs and hiring them incredibly easy. They were clearly invested in making sure they delivered the experience we wanted, rather than what they thought we should do. They were flexible with our requests and were so much fun it felt like they were just more friends at our wedding. The venue literally had to kick us out because even my grandmother and great uncle were still dancing at 1130pm. They had such a full, authentic sound with so much energy that you could have believed that they were playing an arena show. They were also excellent MCs and made the announcements about first dances and cake etc very special. We can't recommend them enough. They are worth every penny- if you have to cut money in your budget somewhere else to hire them, do so- everyone will be too busy having a good time to notice any cuts you made to other aspects of the wedding!"
"Do you want a REAL BAND? Or a wedding band? My husband and I were in the market for a soulful, cool vibe...married on may 10th, after being engaged for 2years. We wanted a wedding that reflected who we are as a couple and took a long, stress-free time to make our plans. We are an NYC couple who happened to attend a wedding in Marblehead MA in 2012, not knowing more than 5 people at the 200 person wedding. East Coast Soul performed there and we danced the entire night. I am a professional dancer, my husband a sweet finance banker, and I must say that we danced more than ever before, loved every tune and fell in love with ECS that night. When we began planning for our wedding, we knew with no question who to hire and why. We had an eclectic group of friends and family, cultural differences and strongly opinionated guests, and EAST COAST SOUL was perfectly suited for our wedding. Not only were they lovely to work with, but long distance planning was easy, arrangements and specifications a breeze, but most importantly, they travelled within a reasonable price and ROCKED our wedding. I am still riding the wedding high, and each phone call I receive mentions first how incredible the band was, second how happy the groom and I looked dancing. To me that says it all, best night of my life and I am still singing random songs that ECS played off the list. What a wonderful crew, I would be honored to see them perform again. We will recommend to everyone if they want A BAND...A REAL BAND, to enhance and create the beauty of their event, EAST COAST SOUL is the way.... Love you guys, and so many thanks!"

Denise (Bride)

Garrison, NY
May 10, 2014
"Oh man, these guys are incredible. I think every single one of our guests came up to me on the wedding night and said 'Who is this band??? They are amazing!!!!' They learned the Cat Power song 'Sea of Love' for us for our first dance and I swear it was magic when they played it. Even more beautiful than I could've imagined. And they're so FUN! The singers were all dancing while they were singing and they had smiles on their faces the whole time, everyone just loved them and never wanted to leave the dance floor. I also think they played the perfect array of music, they got everyone from grandparents, to aunts and uncles and ALL of our friends dancing at some point. They knew just how to work the room, everyone would get excited at whatever the next song was :) I worked with Sean in the whole booking and planning process and he was the easiest person to talk to and work with. He listened to all of my ideas and questions and worked out the perfect package for me. He made everything so easy! And he was so personable, really caring about what we were going for in our planning and getting to know us as a couple. I definitely felt like a client he really cared about. On the wedding day when I finally got to meet everyone (we planned long-distance) they were all so friendly and fun, it was like having more friends there, who happened to be the best band EVER! We gave them a few songs we really liked and our favorite bands from their repertoire and they came up with the most amazing sets. Right after the first dance they played 'Signed, Sealed, Delivered' and EVERYONE jumped onto the dance floor immediately - perfect. And for the last song they played Journey's 'Don't Stop Believing' and my husband said it felt like a movie, it started out slow with everyone dancing as couples, and ended up with the whole place in a circle around us screaming the lyrics. Couldn't have been better ending! Hire them - they will MAKE your party!"

Kendall (Bride)

Holliston, MA
August 3, 2013
"Brought Down the House! Rodney, Carrie, and the band were incredible. We trusted them with playing our first dance, and they crushed it. The set list found the perfect balance to get both younger and older guests on the dance floor throughout the night. The only time they played a song that was not absolutely loved by our guests, they adapted and played an abbreviated version before transitioning to another song. We received innumerable compliments on the band, and a family member that is planning a wedding asked us for their contact information. In short, you cannot go wrong with this band!"

Ben (Groom)

Boylston, MA
August 24, 2019
"The wedding was “monumental” (one of our friend’s reactions) as the weather was fabulous, the ceremony was perfect, and all of our guests had a great time at the reception. ECS was a big part of that. We had friends asking for ECS contact information for future weddings and parties. ECS was very professional with the planning crew working with us all the way up to the day of. We had some unique requests as we had our children involved in performing during the ceremony and reception with the band. They all killed it and they had never practiced together before the performances. Our wedding venue was a bit tricky to navigate - had to take a gondola to the top of Mt. Mansfield - but the band got it done and was on time and ready to go for the ceremony and reception. The band sounded great and they had the guests dancing the entire time. They have an expansive playlist and chose from the genres and artists that we requested. The vocalists were fantastic and they got the guests involved. We were so happy that we went with a live band and so happy that we found East Coast Soul. We highly recommend them for weddings and parties / events - you will not be disappointed!"

Kelly (Bride)

Stowe, VT
October 12, 2019
"When I first found East Coast Soul online, I knew that I would sacrifice anything else in my wedding budget to have them play at our wedding. When I heard them practice, I literally got chills. Amazingly, their price was totally reasonable. I can't say enough about this band. They are fun, soulful, and just all-around great musicians. They really are a band, not just a wedding band. People danced to every single song at our wedding, and obviously had a really good time. The singers are amazing, and get the crowd involved in a non-cheesy way. This band plays the greatest combo of pop hits and motown/soul classics. My mom actually told me she wished she could think of another excuse to hire East Coast Soul again because she loved them so much."

Christina (Bride)

Topsfield, MA
September 28, 2014
"East Coast Soul was an amazing addition to our wedding reception. They were easy to work with, super professional, and played with so much energy and enthusiasm that our guests couldn't stop dancing. Even weeks after our wedding, one of the first things that our guests tell us about our wedding is how much they loved ECS. The music was incredible and they kept the energy up all night. They not only sang and played their hearts out, but they also were amazing dancers and put on such a show that just watching them was fun! You can tell they really love what they do and their enthusiasm is contagious. Book this band, you won't regret it!"

Hillary (Bride)

Newport, RI
July 15, 2014